Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

Oh Cecilia

We started this morning's walk at the beautiful St Margaret's Church in the tiny hamlet of Mapledurham beside the river Thames. Mapledurham is well known as the setting for most of the 1976 film 'The Eagle has landed''. The 14th century church has some really wonderful stained glass windows which have rekindled my interest in the art. I was particularly taken by one Victorian window depicting St Cecilia and St Francis. My blip is a detail from the image of St Cecilia, the patron saint of music and musicians. Unfortunately I now have the Paul Simon song (Oh Cecilia, breaking my heart) stuck in my head. Mapledurham also has the only working watermill on the Thames. The mill features on the cover of the debut album by Black Sabbath. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.