Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Seabegs

Back Blip - doing a bit of a catch-up of my autumn backlog!

Yesterday's visit to the Aurelius sculpture at Lambhill reminded me that it had been a while since I visited that part of the Antonine Wall that is actually closest to where I live - Seabegs Wood, near Bonnybridge. So that was today's destination of choice.

The raised turf wall on the south side, from where I took today's Blip, has the remains of a Roman military road running parallel less than 100 metres away while the ditch to the immediate left is still boggy in most conditions. Mind you, any Picts wishing to attack the Roman lines wouldn't have had to contend with the Forth and Clyde Canal and the B816 before reaching the Wall as they would have today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.