Tetralith

IKEA came this morning, bright and early. Luckily, they’d kept me all manner of up to date with voicemails, so I knew when they’d be coming.

The delivery fellows were friendly and efficient. They might have been more efficient but for the temperature dropping from -5°C to -8°C on their way from the depot to here and freezing the lock on the back of their lorry shut so they couldn’t open it.

It occurred to me that some WD-40 might help, but before I could suggest it, they asked if I had any. I fetched it and put it in squirty-through-the-straw mode. One of the fellows applied it to the lock, then tried the key again: success. WD-40 is like magic.

Did you know WD-40 is called that because it was the fortieth attempt at making a water-displacement substance?

Once the fellows could get into the back of their lorry, they slid out the boxed Billy Bookcases onto the road. They fit in the back of the lorry a lot better than they would in my car.

Mr Pandammonium had wondered if they’d even get in the house. He’s one for visuospatial wonderings, it seems. To be fair, we’ve had problems before. Luckily, there was no need to take the front door off, although it was a bit of a squeeze.

Now we have a tetralith of Billy Bookcase boxes until I dare attempt to build them myself or until tomorrow, when Mr Pandammonium can help. I’m not sure I can do it without help: even Mr Pandammonium thinks the boxes are heavy – and slippery. The fellows carried them singlehandedly – with gloves on. They must be pretty strong.

Here’s something to ponder once you’ve got over the whole WD-40 thing: the difference, if any, between a strong man and a strong woman.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.