stuartjross

By stuartjross

Achanellan

This is a photo from my survey site today. The air temperature stayed at minus 8c for the whole shift. I had an extra layer or two on but in truth felt quite comfortable as long as I kept moving.

The sustained frost of the last few days favoured this site as I had  to repeatedly cross the river cross section fashion. Immediately downstream of here the river splits in two (a bifurcation) so the individual crossings were not as intimidating as you see here.

In about 600 metres the streams converge again at the east end of what is a large island. The east end is a pleasant open field. Ach at the start of a word means field and ellan is an island.

I have a near identical snap taken here mid October:

River Loy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.