There’s something very strange about leaving  the country just before Christmas. It’s not the first time we’ve spent the festive season in the Southern Hemisphere, but last time we left in November so it was somehow easier. 

If we stayed here, we’d be spending Christmas on our own, the boys spending Yuletide elsewhere; still, there’s such a build up that there’s at least a temporary case of FOMO. Worse, right now, is missing out on the Strictly final - though I know I’ll be able to watch the individual dances. 

Now I’m simply shattered - drained by the complexities of packing for so long and for so many different occasions. And you know just how indecisive I am! I’m not sure whether I’ll bother going to bed tonight as we’re being picked up at 3 am! The roads round here are treacherous - I’ve just delivered cards and presents to the neighbours - and I don’t think they’ve gritted roads round here. So I’m hoping for a safe and uneventful journey to the airport. 

Little time for photos, but I took this at our neighbours’ house. Terry lives for Christmas, each year decorating the house using a different theme, relying on creativity rather than expense. This year there’s a Harry Potter vibe with floating candles and presents - all quite magical. Perhaps counterintuitively, I’ve gone for mono. 

Stars rather than comments on journals right now I’m afraid - but I’m sure you’ll  understand. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.