Departure and departure

Sculpture on the Links above the old railway station. The sculpture was inspired by the line of the old railway which followed the curve of the bay. Fraserburgh born poet George Bruce was inspired by the railway line to write the following:

Someone is waving a white handkerchief
from the train as it pulls out with a white
plume from the station and rumbles its way
to somewhere that does not matter. But
it will pass the white sands and the broad sea
that I have watched under the sun and moon
in the stop of time in my childhood as I am
now there again and waiting for the white
handkerchief. I shall not see her again
but the waters rise and fall and the horizon
is firm. You who have not seen that line
hold the brimming sea to the round earth
cannot know this pain and sweetness of departure.

George Bruce (1909-2002)



Sent from my Galaxy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.