Straight Talking

I've had a barrage of x-rays, blood tests and consultations recently to try and shed light on the viciousness of my arthritis. Some mornings I wake up and lie in bed and try to guess what will hurt the most today.

This morning I awoke to the news that the irrepressible Margaret, one of my Awesome Alaskans, had been stolen too soon. She'd beaten stage four cancer twice but sadly not thrice. Puts a lot of my shizzle in perspective. One of the most wonderful people I've met gone far far too young. 

Late this afternoon I got a call from the Dr. Turns out we vaguely know each other from the world of climbing. He told me it's not this, its not that, it's nearly all wear and tear, injuries and genetics. My hands are probably mostly from an abusive childhood, a lot of the rest from half a lifetime in the mountains and, pun fully intended, some unlucky breaks. 
Eventually I asked if there was a way forward. 
Dr Tim said he figured I'm probably quite practical, that I'd prefer a straight answer. Always. 
Learn to live with the pain, or learn to live a different life. 
I sat at Castlerigg a whiles and thought about Margaret, how strong she was, how well she lived life, how much joy she found in the adventure of it alI. Decided I don't like the sound of option two & I swear I heard her exclaim "Awesome", It made me smile like she always did. 

Philosophy Friday 
You don't get what you wish for. 
You get what you work for. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.