fototherapy

By GirlKojak

Bad Psychology

Bad architecture is in the end as much a failure of psychology as of design. It is an example expressed through materials of the same tendencies which in other domains will lead us to marry the wrong people, choose inappropriate jobs and book unsuccessful holidays: the tendency not to understand who we are and what will satisfy us.
(Alain de Botton, The Architecture of Happiness)


I've ranted about architecture before. This is a new Durham University building. It would be fine if it wasn't in the centre of the city and completely dominating the road it is on. You can't actually see, but the terraced houses opposite are truly beautiful, but tiny in comparison. The first few times I drove past the completed building I felt sick with claustrophobia as I queued underneath it waiting for the lights to change. I find it quite intimidating!

(Back-blipped 11 May 2013)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.