Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Secret Santa

These are the small gifts I bought to pepper the work secret Santa with confusion and then decided against, just in case anyone was truly hurt and I became even more of a pariah. I had expected gifts to be unlovely and cruel, and for the most part I was correct. Also lots of sexual innuendo. My gift was put straight into a bin away from the office before I reached home. 
A very quick turn-around, out of my cycling gear and into a posh frock to join everyone else for the Xmas lunch in the town centre. 
One colleague, a young single-mum of a six year-old, had been secretly gifted tickets for her to take her son on a tour of the Harry Potter studios, with a value of about £100 when the budget for secret Santa was £10. She felt rather spooked by it and I tried to encourage her to accept it as an act of thoughtful generosity and nothing more.
As and when I do leave, I may leave these out for people to take if they so wish, but without allocating them to individuals. I think they'll love them, but I'd hate to hurt anyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.