Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Nighthawks

Now home after a fairly uneventful drive back from York.  I was awake early this morning so had a walk out to the local shop for a newspaper before it had started to get too light.  On the way I passed this cinema next to the hotel; it's a lovely Art Deco building which opened in 1937 and the view of the cafe in the gloom really reminded me of the Edward Hopper painting, Nighthawks. 

Last night's meal was excellent.  The restaurant was called Skosh, and serves a modern menu of 'small plates', a bit like Tapas but with flavours from all over the world.  They recommended having six or seven dishes between us first, and then perhaps two or three dessert/cheese dishes.  We had six plates followed by one 'cheese' dish (actually goats cheese with a small piece of pickled pear, fresh honeycomb, black olive and hazelnut - really tasty) which worked out fine for us, but I would have loved to have tasted some of the other dishes on the menu.  Not cheap, but not ridiculously expensive either, and very busy so a good atmosphere.  I'd definitely recommend a visit if you're in York.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.