kkelly17MT

By kkelly17MT

sweet old man

This handsome boy is my first born fur son, Axel. We have no idea how old he is (we adopted him 7 years ago and the shelter guessed he was around 4 at the time) but he’s definitely a senior. He was found running loose with a pack of dogs on a Native American reservation in Southern California before being picked up by animal control. He spent some time at the shelter before being adopted by a family in the military. He lived with them for a few months before the husband was sent on deployment and the family brought him back to the shelter. I try not to pass judgement on people for doing this as I’m sure but wasn’t an easy decision, but I always imagine how heartbroken the kids in his first family must’ve been to have their dad go oversees and their dog get sent away all at once.
Anywho my husband (then boyfriend) and I went to the shelter one day “just to look” and ended up bringing this big lad home.
He’s the absolute sweetest dog I have ever met (and having worked in a shelter and various vet hospitals, I’ve met A LOT). He loves everyone and everything except the water and the cold. He’s not very bright and his head is basically a battering ram. He has been diagnosed with over 40 allergies (to foods, grasses, pollens, teees, etc) and a laundry list of medical issues. He sometimes can’t hold it and goes potty on the floor, but hey he’s like 100 in dog years so I can’t fault him.
He is also responsible for changing so many peoples views on bully breeds. My husbands family used to be very afraid of “pitbull type dogs” because everything you hear in the media is just awful. I’m proud to say Axel is their first grandchild and treated like the kind little prince he is. He’s such a gentle soul and while he is very stinky, he would never hurt a fly.
I know we don’t have a lot of time left together, but I make it my mission to cherish every day that we do have.
Love you my sweet big headed boy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.