Rebate

Well, who wouldn't like a tax rebate? We received one, this morning, for just over five thousand pounds.

But then I found myself thinking, a rebate is for an overpayment, yet we always pay what we're told to, and, basically, HMRC have been sat on five thousand pounds of our money, which they shouldn't have had in the first place.

Further to which, they reside doggedly in the 1990s, so the rebate was in the form of a cheque. You know, like in olden times.

Obviously, that me meant going to the bank, which is a real schlep, but all irritation was mitigated as, happily, I was meeting my friend, Ian, for a coffee in Kendal, this morning, so I was in the vicinity of the bank. (It was quite a coincidence; I haven't been into Kendal for coffee for as long as I can remember.)

As the coffee (enjoyably) overran, I had to do a subsequent Teams meeting standing around in the snow and low temperatures, after which I took refuge in Booths to warm up and buy some lunch, and then walked back to the office.

I went back along the canal from Pier Head, leaving the canal at Change Bridge, picture here, and looking like a weak analogy of Kev Cummings' renowned photo of Joy Division.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.