Living my dream

By Mima

Neat!

This is the neatest stack of firewood I’ve seen for a long time. All done by my friend M, pictured here checking that the left end wasn’t about to collapse. The extra shows what a collapse looks like… on another of her stacks.

M is one of my local community of support: one of the few people with whom I don’t need to hold my tongue about our climate and resource crises. She too lives a simple life and we inspire each other regularly. We chatted for hours about our plans and projects; sounding each other out about ideas and dreams.

Today we shared a delicious home-grown and home-made lunch in her woodland cottage. I provided sourdough to accompany her walnut and broccoli salad. The fire was blazing and it drove away the cold damp day outside.

Bean was provided the fire, a sofa and a beautiful soft woollen blanket. I’m not the only one to spoil her.

I came home feeling well-fed, body and soul.

Such friends are priceless.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.