Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2022 Friday — 14 Years

Blipfoto officials have let me know that this blip marks my 14th year of blipping. Technically my first blip was on January 5, 2009, but I have added several blips from days that preceded that initial blip. So Ta-Dah!

I am 100% hooked on daily blipping. And yes, I do some back blipping, and I'm grateful for this feature.

Blipping is a fabulous way to record personal history. I began this habit because I believe that writing every day is valuable and when I was a fulltime professor at the community college, I tried to convince my students that journaling was important to help improve their writing skills. So, I was looking for a place for me to do daily journaling. At that time, Blipfoto was mostly a photography place; comments often were about camera settings and technical jargon. But posting a photo gave me something to write about. A photo can be a fabulous prompt.

Then I discovered the blip community and their encouraging comments. So every aspect of Blipfoto just made the entire experience extremely addictive. For my first 3 years here I was completely mesmerized. I enjoyed writing comments to others as much as writing my own blip, but 36 months in and I realized I was seriously addicted. This place is still addictive, but I have found balance. I blip every day, but no longer write the number of comments that I used to.

And well, here I am 14 years later posting daily and delighted by all the details of my personal life and family that are contained in these pages.. AND I still love doing this.

I think of Blipfoto as a wide ribbon that circles this globe we call earth, and once a day I reach up to pin my photo to the ribbon. Then when the ribbon comes around again the next day, I put up a new post . . . a constant rotation of photos and thoughts from around the world.

Good night,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol
and Chloe & Mitzi too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.