Curiouser And Curiouser

On This Day In History
1620: The Mayflower docks at Plymouth harbour

Quote Of The Day
"Next to the fugitives whom Moses lead out of Egypt, the little shipload of outcasts who landed at Plymouth are destined to influence the future of the world."
(James Russell Lowell)

10 out of 10 to Mr. Lowell for prescience.

Still, when it comes to the creation of cultural icons that influence the world, we Brits don't do so bad. One of those icons is Alice from Lewis Carroll's classic Alice's Adventures In Wonderland and Alice Through The Looking Glass books. Today I went to an exhibition which highlighted a number of different interpretations of Alice through the years, as well as exhibits related to the original books.

Some of the highlights for me were original artwork by Tim Burton for his two Alice films, costumes from Damon Albarn's Alice musical (I had no idea he had even written one so I must try and get to see this), clips from some early filmed versions which I had never seen before, and the Alice inspired Lolita Goth outfits by Yosuke. I also must try and purchase the Chris Riddell illustrated version of Alice's Adventures In Wonderland. One of the best children's book illustrators around today.

The Damon Albarn costumes and Lolita Goth outfits are in the extras.

This evening I went to see the projection mapping show on the old Osaka City Hall. Magical, as always. 

Never thought I'd put Jefferson Airplane in my journal, but it seems appropriate here.

White Rabbit

My daughter thought Grace Slick was singing, “Jingle bells,” not “Feed your head,” and now she’s singing a psychedelic Christmas song. Good Lord.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.