WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Pylon world

The sky was lovely again and I fancied taking advantage to have a go at "pylon in pylon".

Domestic days ... S bought some glue advertised as for "extreme gluing situations" online. This one only required 24 hours to set, and when we got back from B's on Thursday he removed the clamps, opened the oven, and it didn't instantly fall apart. So I tested it out by making a small batch of mince pies with the mincemeat I made the other day. I'm happy to say the oven door is still in one piece. So here's to the next 20 years' service. 

Instead of doing them the usual way I picked a Paul Hollywood recipe that uses muffin tins. It has a rich, buttery pastry and the ratio of filling to pastry is much better than my usual ones. I think I'll stick to this from now on.

Continuing on the Christmas theme,  a while ago I subscribed to online newspaper the Sheffield Tribune because I had to in order to read a particular article. This week's article is about the Sheffield tradition of mass singing of carols in pubs. I found it fascinating, largely because despite being born in Sheffield and spending the first 11 years of my life there, I had no idea this tradition existed. OK, I wasn't old enough to go into pubs, but I did sing in the school choir. Anyway, it's very interesting and you don't have to subscribe to read it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.