A Tiny Garden in NE Wales

By aTinyGarden

Christmas has arrived!

It's the 18th December. No biggie but it's a date that sends me into a spin if I let it. On this day 14 years ago, was the worst day of my life. A phone call in the early hours from my brother letting me know our Mum had died. I'd been chatting to her the previous day and looking forward to Christmas and all the family going out for dinner. Shock, anger, grief and for about 5 years completely unable to cope with Christmas. Now, it's not so bad. Sometimes I'm up for all the christmassy spirit. This year, I'm still feeling under the weather thanks to a particularly nasty cold which refuses to clear completely, I'm not feeling Christmassy, but yesterday was our Choir's last rehearsal for 2022 and our last gig, which was to provide the residents of a local care home, a chance to listen and join in singing some carols and Christmas songs. The first time we've been able to go there since 2019. And they loved it. We chatted to them all over tea and mince pies. Surrounded by all my lovely friends in the choir and these gorgeous human beings at the care home, all the decorations and trimmings, and I thought, I need Christmas. So we got everything down from the loft, sorted through them, ably assisted by one over excited cat, and put together this years' Christmas Tree tableaux with my collection of trees, and Father Christmas's. No big tree, just not got the energy! But some of my favourite, and my Mum's favourite decorations. I've put several strands of fairy lights in large vases and dotted them around too. Bought the last 2 presents and Jyst need to do last minute food shopping and we are ready for Christmas 2022 chez Barker. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.