photosbyjon

By photosbyjon

Day 130 of 365 - The Old Cathedral Spire!

Welcome to day 130 of 365 (Finished image after Editing)

The original photo was taken early this evening at Coventry Cathedral. I had just dropped off my daughter for her Choir practice ahead of the concert she was singing in tonight at the Cathedral with Aled Jones. This image is of the Tower and spire of the the Ruined Old Cathedral of St Michael. The original Church of St Michael was built in the 14th century for the Earls of Coventry. Before the Church was elevated to cathedral status in 1918 it was one of the largest parish churches in England. The Cathedral was famously bombed almost to destruction during the Coventry Blitz on 14 November 1940. All that remained was the tower, spire, the outer wall and the bronze effigy and tomb of its first bishop, Huyshe Wolcott Yeatman-Biggs. The ruined Old Cathedral is still hallowed ground and services are held near the Alter in the ruins every week. The ruins now stand as a testament for the worldwide reconciliation work of the community of the Cross of Nails and for forgiveness. The tower and spire rises to 90 m (295 ft) and is the third tallest cathedral spire in England. It is also the tallest structure in the Coventry.

The Cathedral is classed as a Grade I listed building. The Cathedral is number 9 on my list of 19 (Grade I) Listed buildings in Coventry that I hope to photograph.

As always the shot was taken with my iPhone 5. The photo was taken using the camera App Mattebox for iPhone. The original image can be found here: Unedited original Image.

First of all I used the app Snapseed to edit the photo. To do this I first straightened the image then I applied the Drama 2 filter. The next app I used was PhotoToaster to edit the image further. The edits were made by applying the Clarify filter and the Antiqued texture to the image. I also applied a Sepia tone and a Medium Black Vignette. Finally I used Distressed FX to add extra texture to the image using the Birds Soulmate overlay and the Cedar Texture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.