Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Advent 4

The Sunday before Christmas, and this year, as Christmas is on a Sunday, there's still a full week to go. Next year the fourth Sunday of Advent will be Christmas Eve as it falls on the 24th.
Church this morning and somehow the rest of the day disappeared, I don't know what I did. I did spend an inordinate amount of time putting our fairy/angel and star on top of the tree though.
Our service this evening involved members of the local community doing readings, scout leaders, playgroup staff, councillors, the manager of the local pub - she read the "no room at the inn" passage. At the end, to laughter, she assured us that she did in fact have lots of room and she was looking forward to seeing us in her Inn on Tuesday for more carols with mince pies and mulled wine! Nice to see so many visitors in the church. We had solos as well as congregational carols, one from a Polish chorister, another from a musician from the local Baptist Church, one from our Franciscan associate priest. The blip was from the beginning of the service which was in candle light. The red and white (as yet unlit) candles are on our Advent Crown which I bought a few years ago in memory of my parents and sister.
My evening was rather marred by somebody reversing into the side of my car. There's not too much damage and she came and told me she'd done it, but I just don't have any time to have to deal with sorting all that out just now. I don't think I've ever felt more flustered and less prepared for Christmas let alone 40th and 100th birthday celebrations. Still all will be well as Mother Julian said.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.