teb

By teb

Being watched...

The woodpecker in this image has a home in the tree shown here. It's opening is on the other side of where it is perched. It was quite concerned about me being so close, so I just took a quick snap. The tree is one of my favorite palm trees that died just recently. The woodpecker home is not, however, the only home in this palm tree. Inside near the top is another nest providing shelter for a different breed...a starling, I believe, and its young. As the sun was setting, both families were busy getting the last meals of the day. I love the idea that these 2 different breeds live "side by side" in the same tree. Since hurricane season is approaching, I've been told the tree should be removed. As for me, as long as she, the tree, is offering safety and shelter, she stays right where she is!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.