Holiday Lights

Honestly I find some of the hullaballoo around Christmas to be a bit much. Forced cheer, fake piety, and excessive materialism come readily to mind, and that's before we even get to my issues with the religious material itself. Something I do enjoy, however, is all the lights. I know, I know - there's a lot of power consumption going into all this, some displays are tacky, and light pollution degrades quality of life etc, etc - but I have spent enough time walking around in the darkness to appreciate this window of time when people push back against it more than usual. This display is a case in point, something over the top and yet it gives me a brief moment of cheer while driving to work before the sun comes up. Which also explains why the image is so streaky, but I thought it looked interesting and I didn't have anything else from today so there you go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.