Yorkshire Photographic Union Exhibition - Hull

Yesterday.

I had two prints accepted for the exhibition, this one and Ghost Gallery - not bad out of 1400 prints submitted to the exhibition. I also had one digital projected image (DPI) accepted, Astrantia, which was awarded a certificate of merit, so I was really pleased. It was an absolutely exhausting day for various reasons and we missed lunch - so by the time we arrived home all we wanted was food and sleep.

MB, who is a superb wildlife photographer had two prints and four DPI's accepted, one of which gained a merit. Craig had one DPI accepted (I love it), which also gained a merit and his daughter Ruby who's still only 7 one a cup for her portrait of Stephen. So she was the star of the day for our club. It was disappointing that more of our club members did not gain acceptance into the exhibition and I hope they are not too disappointed. It was my first year as the YPU secretary so I feel a little responsible.

I've been thinking about the style that is evolving for my photographic images, which I guess owes a little to the Vanitas movement in Dutch painting. It's nothing like the hand made print stuff I've been doing. Maybe it has yet to evolve some more. The difference between what I choose to enter for competitions and what people might find pleasing as an image on a card is beginning to interest me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.