The final crossing

This is the technique to cross a river as a group. For the last 2 river crossings today we split into 2 groups and learned and practiced the art of safe and successful river crossing.

Certainly since European settlement in NZ drowning while attempting to cross rivers has been a major cause of death. Sadly it remains a major cause of death while tramping/hiking or even on the approach in/coming out from climbs.

I'm not a fan of my tramping club's requirement of completing an overnight tramp before you can join. Since it remains just that, my co-leaders and I decided we'd cover some basic navigation with maps and compass and cover safe river techniques. Skills are what build competence and confidence.

The lessons learned on the fist linked up crossing were well applied in the second (and last) river crossing of the the Hawdon River.

I couldn't go past this image. The grins of delight and sheer joy on Mary's face say it all.

A successful and enjoyable trip :-)

Happy Mother's day to you Mum (and now I'll slink off to bed).

Yesterday's Walker Pass

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.