Living in Brabant

By AilsaR

Diamonds and pearls

A quiet harbour.
The only sound: the groaning of the boats (caused by a slight wind).
Street lamps: pearls. Reflections on the water: diamonds.

Out of the semi-darkness I spotted a young man walking towards me, swaying slightly.
He was totally lost he said, and wanted to know the way to the station.
Had he just come from the concert in the park, I asked.
Yes, he had.

I'd finished photographing, so I offered to walk part of the way with him.
On the way, he kept putting his hand on my shoulder, thanking me profusely for my trouble. It wasn't any trouble at all.

When I thought he stood a good chance of finding the station we parted company and he walked away, zig-zagging along the street.
Drunk as a skunk and happy as a Lord he was. He made me smile. I hope he made it home OK.

Diamonds and pearls.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.