Blood

For about 10 years now I have taken a 100mg aspirin every day, following medical advice, as it should help prevent the platelets in my blood from getting stuck together. 

The medical advice came from a German doctor, and the 100mg tablets are not sold in the UK. So, every 500 days I order 5 boxes online from Germany. 

You can guess what is coming, right?

Well, the good news is I can still buy them. 500 days ago I did it on a German pharmacy site and all was well. They were delivered from Stuttgart (or thereby). 

Since then, the company has had to set up a UK website to continue selling here. That is fine too. 

The price is £0.10p per box less than 500 days ago. That is fine too, obviously. 

But now I have to pay a Brexit surcharge as well - £3.25 on top of the £12.30 for the medication. That comes to about 20% more, doesn't it?

Those are tiny numbers but no doubt the same is happening with every single item we buy which is imported from the EU. Remember the next time a politician denies the inflationary impact of Brexit. 

OK, I feel better now I have that off my chest. 

I had a good day leaving aside the £3.25. That included using my neglected German language skills. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.