Anniemay

By Anniemay

Things you can do in the DARK

Another couple of hours spent in the dark with Igor my trusty assistant. Last week it was photographing water droplets, this week photographing light trails. Last week it was fast shutter speeds, this week slow shutter speeds. Blipfoto and these challenges are really developing my photographic skills!!

We set up the camera on the tripod and just played around with a torch, an owl with two lighting up eyes (thank you Mollymay, I knew it would come in handy one day!) and some slow shutter speeds. We were as excited as children when we reviewed the first image. It was just a circle of light but we were jumping up and down as if we had just discovered how to grow money trees!!! The next hour or so was spent happily drawing light pictures with our two light sources. Ian Igor did the lovely blue flower shown above and I did the heart (what a soppy pair).

After playing around for a while I finally got round to doing what I wanted to do which was to record the patterns made by a swinging torch (main image). I am very pleased and proud of the image I made but it wasn't nearly as much fun (or as rewarding) as the childlike drawings we produced with our 'lightsticks in the dark'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.