(355) Multiple Redundancy

While looking for a particular cable today I ended up clearing out a couple of drawers and in the process found another stack of blank CDs. I used to burn a lot of CDs, both data and audio, then suddenly I didn't. Consequently I have a couple of hundred of virtually useless blank discs in various formats taking up space in the house. I recently bought a pocket-size 2Tb portable SSD that far exceeds the capacity and read/write speed of the CDs and I really can't see them ever being used again. As for the evolution of computer storage media, I can remember my first encounter with a computer, a Research Machines 380Z, which sported a 5 1/4 inch internal  floppy disc drive. Disc capacity (according to Wikipedia as I certainly don't remember that) was somewhere between 80kb and 180kb per side. I reckon that might be enough space for a simple Word document but it would take around 200 - 500 discs to hold a single RAW file from my Nikon D850.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.