Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Experimental Spots

I've been playing - it's early days.

Our Yorkshire Creative Photography group have been set the challenge of `spots' as a theme for this coming  month.  My  first thought was work by the artist Brigitte Riley, but then I came across the work of Aliki Braine.  Rather than seeing herself as a photographer she regards herself as a sculptor who uses photographs as her medium.   She actually alters her negatives, and then prints, which gives a totally different effect, but there are one or two aspects of my experiment that I think would be worth pursuing.  One of the things I do like is the analogue effect of shadows that you get when adding a cut out element on to the surface of the photograph - so totally different to a photo shop effect.  I can see what she means about the sculptural qualities of this effect, even though it's very flat sculpture.  I first tried this kind of technique when I did a zoom course with West Yorkshire Print Workshop and the artist Claire Hynds.

Christmas meet-up with Buddy and GG for breakfast at Cannon Hall and an exchange of Christmas pressies.  I'll feel much happier once Christmas is over for another year. I'm actually looking forward to giving myself a bit of playtime with some gelli-print printing and maybe some other kinds of hand-on printmaking.  That's a bit dependent on it not being too cold upstairs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.