Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Shortest Day - not

40 years ago, this was the longest day of my life as our elder daughter took her time coming into the world. I was in Elsie Inglis Hospital from 7am on the 21st until she finally put in an appearance in the afternoon of the 22nd! Worth the wait though!

Today, being Wednesday was our mid week service. I made a batch of mince pies to take with me to have with coffee afterwards and got the numbers just right. I took 13 and 12 were eaten. I made it in time by the skin of my teeth. Why do I have these good ideas at the last minute.... and not dismiss them as impractical!
Back home I got stuck into a couple of other activities until lunch time when the girls arrived. Lunch was rolls and sausage, as they are known here, as opposed to sausage rolls which are something entirely different. The girls then set to, making a birthday card for their mum while I made some chocolate tiffin at s in l's request and a couple more batches of mince pies for good measure. They're in a box ready and waiting now.
After the girls had gone home and we'd enjoyed a lamb casserole for dinner, we settled down, along with Joyce and watched the first episode of Granite Harbour. Apart from one moment of appallingly wooden acting all looks good.
Blipping this a day late and with a last minute emergency Christmas tree photo! Hopefully I'll catch up again by the end of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.