Royal Worcester

We visited The Museum of Royal Worcester this morning.  The museum has the history of the porcelain manufacturing in the city from its start in 1751 to 2008. There are two floors of amazing pottery with exquisite paint decorating and well worth a visit.  This is our second visit since moving to Worcester and I am very impressed with the craftsmanship.  The actual museum is only a five minute walk away from where we live, a lot of the original buildings are still in place, most now converted into apartments.  The blip is a random selection of some of the photos I took whilst there.  I'm not sure about the skull and empty chairs, though I do know now why it is called bone china!  Also I realise that some may find the Benjamin Franklin quote somewhat sexist; but maybe they hadn't invented sexism in 1758.

Later this afternoon Emma and Rafferty came for a visit.  Raffy was his usual charming, delightful self (I am biased) and we had a nice time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.