Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

White-throated Sparrow

It's been raining all day. It started early this morning with sleet/wintry mix, but changed to rain at some point in mid-morning. Tomorrow the temperatures are supposed to plummet - but at this point it's hard to know whether the rain will clear out before that happens, or whether we might get a bit of snow in the morning.

In any case - today has been an endless day of gloom and being stuck inside. The birds are wet and miserable. This - I think - is the first time I've ever seen a white-throated sparrow get food from the place on the maple tree where I put handfuls of seed. Usually they're just ground feeders. And I swear at one point I saw a male cardinal give him a morsel. I could be wrong, but that's what it looked like. After that, though, it seemed to chase him away - so I may have been misinterpreting what I initially saw.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.