Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

I went with my mum to visit Leighton House, which was fascinating but lighting was very poor and my images have not come out as well as I had hoped. The highlight there is the “Arab Hall” which may be a discourteous name for a room clad in tiles from Syria and Iran. The task of arranging Lord Leighton's collection of tiles into coherent panels fell to William de Morgan who found it rather more difficult than he imagined but gave him plenty of inspiration for his own designs to follow. I did spot a couple of mistakes, but then I would, wouldn't I.
I was thrilled to see the arch design included in extras.
While there we learned that Tower House, belonging to William Burges is only just round the corner. I had been reading all about that house as recently as Saturday when I visited the Higgins, Bedford, to see the Burges collection there and found quite a few items of furniture from Tower House in their collection. Sadly it is not open to the public, but I took some shots from outside which I shall have to backblip because I have no images for Wednesday and have run out of extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.