Shutterup

By Shutterup

Not forgotten..

My memory was awoken today of times in my childhood when we would visit my (mock) Aunt and Uncle in a nearby farm. She was a childhood friend of my mothers and we used to go to their farm for wonderful picnics by the river.. swimming and canoeing in the summer, or to watch Wimbledon on the b/w television and eat home made cake for tea. I remember helping to bring in and milk the cows and my favourite job was to feed the calves with my fingers acting as the teat as they drank warm milk from a bucket. I was taught how to skim the cream from the milk using a special skimmer and used to love collecting the eggs from all around the barns. What happy days we had together.
Sadly we had lost touch over the years but she sprang into my mind this morning at breakfast. I made enquiries (on google actually) and found that she had died two days ago and that the announcement had been made yesterday in the newspaper ... it was a very surreal moment.. so it seemed fitting to blip a 'memory' using some forget-me-nots which I have loved since I was a child.

Rest In Peace Auntie Anne you are not forgotten

'Memory' for the May Heartfreek Photo Challenge

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.