Sweetness and light today!

In the end last night I phone home and her mum had a very cross word with Ella who scampered up to bed and hid under the covers not to appear till 7.01am which was the earliest I said they could come down.
(I was a bit upset as I’d just heard Keith, the nice man on our Mexican trip who had a heart attack there and had 3 stents fitted, had died suddenly.)

After breakfast Mr C took her to the butchers to pick up the pheasants, sausages and bacon which she offered to carry as it “might be a bit heavy for you Grandad”. Nathaniel didn’t go, explaining he was a pescatarian now. Meanwhile I set Nathaniel on the task of sorting all our toys into 2 piles - keep because they still play with them, or give to littler children we know. He asked if he could make another pile “no longer played with but keep for sentimental reasons”. Silly me agreed - it is the largest pile! While that was going on I made a Caribbean fruit cake instead of a Christmas one.

After lunch Ella came to give me a hug and she apologised for her behaviour yesterday. I got out the monopoly while Mr C had a nap. We had a laugh in the game even though I bankrupted them, which they took in good part. So it has been a delightful day with my lovely beautifully behaved and fun grandchildren! MrC got the task of driving them home while I’ll check my lists for all I need to do in the morning tomorrow to prep the food to take to #2 daughter. She took the boys to Beamish despite her cough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.