No queue today

When I walked along the main  street  in Stockbridge today the post office was one of the few shops without a queue. Very rarely do I look in there and see no one waiting. Not much point in posting anything at the moment anyway, I suppose, given that Royal Mail are on strike now until Christmas. I hope the postmistress and her team get a nice break and things improve in the new year. She works really hard and is always extremely helpful, providing a great service to the community.

The butcher, the fishmonger and the cheesemonger all had long queues tailing along the street.

I returned to the house via the park to see what the swan situation was. The two interlopers were still there. While I was surveying the pond, the five cygnets decided to “fly” to the other end - just skimming the surface with a lot of noise and flapping of their wings. This set the two visitors off and they launched themselves into the air, circled the rugby ground and then flew away! 

I returned to the pond this afternoon just as it was getting dark, and life for the swan family had returned to a more sedate place, with no strangers  to be seen. Napoleon has stamped his authority once again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.