Startingover

By StartingOver

Swan song....

As in Luxor, I like to cycle as much as I can. The Chinese model I had in Egypt, has been replaced by a multi-geared mountain bike, that speeds along the Country lanes with ease.
Before Sunday lunch, I crossed through Cumberwell golf course from the village, retracing steps from my childhood, as I passed through Bradford-on-Avon and my old school. The clouds in the distance looked grey and scarily full of water.
I decided to keep going, as I hit the canal towpath, the clouds were behind me and the water was full of vividly decorated barges, tempting me to go further and explore an area I had not seen for some time.

Captains of the vessels, changed gas cyclinders, chopped wood, carried out maintenance work or sat with fellow captains and chatted over steaming mugs of tea.

Dog walkers, young couples, cyclists, runners, walkers, all out getting their excercise and fresh air, before returning to their homes for a roast lunch (Or I imgaine!)

The Kennet & Avon canal is a hive of activity and not only with the human kind, this female swan was busy making the final touches to her nest, less than a metre away from the path.

Heading on, the path changed direction, sadly right into those clouds that were now emptying the water onto the lush land below.

This is a video of her making her nest http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1sWZMOvVI-o&feature=youtu.be

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.