Ratae Corieltavorum*

At some point I think I knew that Leicester was one of the earliest Roman cities in Britain, but on the various occasions we've visited in the last few years - once for a Public Service Broadcasting gig, but mostly to visit/drop off/collect the miniMinx - it's never occurred to me.

In fact, I was quite surprised this morning to find our hotel room overlooking the site shown in today's Blip. (It was dark when we checked in, last night.) I must come back and investigate properly!

We met the miniMinx for breakfast, and then set off for home, with a small detour to drop off the Minx's mum. Courtesy of the short days, it was already easing into dusk when we finally got home, and it almost felt like we'd spent the whole day in the car.

* translates (I believe) as 'Roman Leicester'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.