The Night Before Christmas

A fourth page from my book of the poem by Clement C Moore with illustrations by Robert Ingpen. Happy xmas everyone

https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2391645076150291422
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2788851159182347944
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2921100899705161361

Record of the the the emergency the night before...
- was woken at 3am by my alarm saying 'warning - carbon monoxide' twice
- rang HomeServe who told me not to switch on lights, turn off gas at the meter, open some windows and got the Gas Emergency Service out (Cadent) (0800 111 999)
- Cadent arrived within the hour, couldn't detect gas but capped off my gas supply and turned off the boiler. Said I'd have to get boiler and gas hob checked before it could go back on again
- Boiler installed by Help-Link 5 years ago, had boiler repair and service cover with them, they were acquired by HomeServe with the promise that 'you don't need to worry, the change will be seamless and you don't need to do a thing'
- I queried HomeServe contract difference and was told not to worry as I had an unusual HelpLink policy and it was the same in reality, just ring and they'll sort out who attends under the warranty
- HomeServe say I'm not covered and HelpLink number goes to HomeServe
- Worcester Bosch can't come out until Thurs despite me having a heart condition that is affected by getting cold. They need proof of last service
- Contact a regional company Gasway who, when hearing about my heart condition, arrange for an emergency appointment hopefully by 6pm to look at boiler and hob
- HomeServe helpline can't send external emails and the team that can may take 7 days to send proof of last service
- Escalate to HomeServe manager who does send proof of service and has raised my complaint about the policy transfer with the complaints team. Confirms my hob gas supply is not covered on either policy I have with them
- Hopefully Gasway will arrive soon. I've spent nearly 4 hours on the phone today. I'm hoping it's a faulty  carbon monoxide alarm, but it can't be tested. Got a replacement in town this morning to be safe. Fortunately it's not been too cold today and I have an immersion heater plus a portable electric heater which is helping a bit.

Update - all checked out by 6:15 and back on. He suspects a faulty alarm so I’ve taken that one down as I’ve got my new one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.