"Pink" Bird's Nest Orchid - see ##

I think this was because of the sun coming through this very new specimen as normally these orchids are drab browns and fawns - actually it is not a Bird's Nest orchid but an Orobanche Alba thanks to Tonyg. When I moved some grass to photograph it, I could not believe my eyes, there were so many ants inside the flowers and going up and down the stem. If you want a better idea of the flower shape look here. These flowers are about 1cm across and they only come out every 9 years apparently! We seem to have more of them every year so maybe the ants are pollinators?
I am fascinated by these complex, beautiful and short lived flowers so I am publishing this instead of the wonderful mountain view that has just appeared. Apologies, but the mountains will still be there tomorrow and the orchids are only around for a few days.
No naughty comments about the purple balls!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.