Ronnie Scott’s on Boxing Day

Lucky to get tickets for this Soho jazz venue as there are only just over 200 seats available and we were very late deciding Christmas plans. Photo taken in interval.

In lockdown Ronnie’s started doing livestreams which were a wonderful thing. Watching artists play live when venues were shut to the public. Over many months I watched several gigs and contributed a ‘pay as you wish’ to about half, which were the ones I watched for more than 15 mins. I’m not a big Jazz fan and don’t own any Jazz music as such but I like Ronnie’s and what it tries to do,

The woman we saw today, Liane Carroll, was someone I saw in such a fab livestream. Amazing luck she was playing today. Her Nina Simone covers are amazing and watching her and the band play the fast pace required of Sinnerman was amazing. She was also very, very funny and I found I was streaming with tears at some things she said as she talked about death, in a blunt but unique way. Peter Cushing was mentioned which I’m mentioning here for my reference in the future, she’s the Kathy Burke/ Jo Brand of jazz.

Walked along the Thames shoreline snd spotted lots of clay pipe stems.

Managed 21,000 steps at least today which felt good.

In the spirit of todays music performance if you want to hear something lovely I think you’d go worse thank visiting ‘You Tube’ and search for ‘David Bowie Wild is the Wind’ it’s a much better version than the original IMO

Happy Boxing Day all :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.