Frost in the farm house

While we are toasty warm up in our apartment above the garage, the farm house isn't heated. So I took this picture of frost on the inside looking out at the back of the property.
Today we started the generator and Dan brought it over and plugged the oven in the farm house into it and voila we had a working oven in a very cold house. I had been meaning to make my lemon icebox pie for Christmas and was thwarted by the power outage. I spent hours on Friday cooking down sugar and goat milk to make my own sweetened condensed milk since I can't have the regular cow stuff. It turned out great. So today I just decided to do it. The extra is me whipping the egg whites in the very chilly house. The pie looked perfect when it came out but it turned out the meringue got a little liquidy afterwards. So it really is more like a pudding. I'm a little disappointed but it was an adventure.
Oh and btw... OUR POWER IS ON!!! :-) 4:30 this afternoon just as it was turning dusk. Oh joyousness!! 76 hours of no power is interesting and doable but I'm glad it's over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.