GiselaClaire

By GiselaClaire

The fog recedes . . .

I spent most of May Day in bed, as planned, recovering from the 36 hour journey, so I didn't take any photographs.

I wasn't home from work in time to capture the eerie fog which came in from the sea and settled over the city. It was very unusual. Here, you can see the silvery sun break through the fog as it drifts away.

It was so great to go back to the office. In no office I've worked in have my colleagues been so enthusiastically welcoming to every person who returns after a time away.

The special greeting is 'Ilhamdulillah salama' which loosely translates as 'Thanks be to God, you have safely arrived'. The response is 'Allah isalmak/-ik', for a man or a woman respectively.

It's good to be back!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.