Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

Early days...

In the early days the Port Appin diorama was little more than a small model railway with a couple of buses and cars.  As my ideas grew my interests swung from just trains to including railway scenery with buses and lorries and then later, town buildings and people.  

The model railway magazines regularly showed other people's layouts and most were magnificent with locomotives that were near perfect (and much more than I could afford or achieve) but sadly so many of these layouts were using Hornby proprietary buildings and model transport and despite being very good models they were  just not what I wanted.  

I decided to change direction and build model dioramas with hand made actual Scottish buildings and scenery rather than railway layouts and Port Appin was born.  After grandson Max was drooling over the models yesterday I decided to dig out some early photos hence today’s scan of a (long gone) Port Appin quarry and worker’s bus.


An early diorama - The real bus was seen in a railway yard in Perth around 1969.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.