A Black Day

On 21st December, after Ollie dog had charmed the queue in the bank, we returned home and were doing some baking. She ran into the living room and fell to the floor kicking her legs violently. I thought she was choking and put my hand right down her throat. She soon recovered and I realised that it was a fit/seizure. I have no experience of these in dogs or humans.

She seemed to be fine the next day and I took her with the family to the Dog and Pickle.

On the Friday my daughter came to me at lunchtime so that I could take her to lunch with her colleagues in Epping. Ollie greeted my daughter with whoops of delight. I had decided to keep the seizure a secret. On the way to Epping Ollie had a fit in the back of the van and I had to come clean. It was a relief that my secret was out. We visited the vet who took blood samples. She said that it might be six months before Ollie had another seizure.

At 2:30 am on Christmas Eve she had a fit. I picked my son up from the station that afternoon and told him about Ollie's seizures.

On Christmas day she had a seizure at 6:30 am and others subsequently. When the family arrived at 1:00pm she didn't recognise them and barked at her friend Frankie dog. In spite of Ollie's difficulties we had a happyish day but I know that the family was in tears about her plight on the way home.

On Boxing Day the seizures became more frequent and Ollie seemed to have forgotten me. She flinched when I went to stroke her. She spent the time between seizures pacing, sniffing, blundering and craving food. She barked at Marla the horse who she usually kisses. Her whole demeanour had changed. Those kind eyes of hers looked manic. Even the angle of her ears looked wrong 

On 27th the seizures became even more frequent. By mid afternoon she was literally climbing the walls. I was losing my beloved dog before my eyes. I arranged to see the vet at 5:00pm even though it was a Bank Holiday. Thanks to the professionalism of the people at the surgery she died a peaceful death in my arms. It is highly likely that she was suffering from a brain tumour.

I was devastated and profoundly sad but I felt a sense of relief that the suffering of the best dog in the world is at an end.

Today is such a black day for me. How am I going to cope without my faithful friend? 
   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.