Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

Some news… pending other news

mri results—
my neurosurgeon ponders
next course of action

As those of you who have wondered/asked where I had disappeared to might have guessed, my health has been going downhill in the past couple of months. I have gradually been less and less able to walk, to the point that in the last few weeks I have been unable to go up the stairs to our bedroom and have had to sleep on the sofa downstairs… I only walk very short distances - with a walking frame.

I had an appointment with my physio consultant at the physio centre on 9 December. He ordered an emergency MRI which I was able to take on the 13th. However, due to clerical errors, I didn’t get the results until last Friday and my consultant needed my neurosurgeon’s advice before considering what to do. My neurosurgeon is supposed to be on holidays this week but he got back to me today asking for a link to the images to understand things in more detail.

From what I can read of the report, nothing much has changed at the top of my back, where the procedure took place in July 2019, which is good news. The returned paralysis in my leg, concerning as it is, could be due to some oedema in my lower back, which is rather reassuring as it could be alleviated by the course of corticoids my GP put me on as soon as we received the report. But the neurosurgeon will have the last word; a reassuring one I hope!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.