SilverImages

By SilverImages

Newport Footbridge

I'm just someone who likes cooking and for whom sharing food is a form of expression.
Maya Angelou
Christmas Day is over, the first in the ‘new’ house. Our first Christmas dinner here, managed to get the cooking done for eleven, on tables and chairs borrowed from family for the day. Downsizing means we don’t have enough furniture for such a large gathering, but that’s part of the beauty of it for me because it’s more of a shared event; borrowed furniture, sisters-in-law preparing the starter and dessert, we did the main course. And what a Christmas present - K2 made it back for the holiday. Maybe I’m beginning to understand why family gatherings were so important to my mother. It was a long day but it didn’t tire me in the way that ‘working’ a seven-hour shift would. I was asked what it was like hosting the gathering – it was a really rewarding experience because we all shared in making it. I even had trifle left behind as a treat for me for Boxing Day. Today we returned our Christmas present to Newport to get the bus back to London, trains not running so options were limited, but it all seemed to work out in the end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.