Mother's Day at Big Rock Garden

It was raining when I walked up to Big Rock Garden this morning. A group of us were painting "en plein air" the help celebrate Mother's Day. Luckily the rain was light and the city had small personal tents for each of us to stand under while we painted. I had a great time chatting with folks while I worked on this painting. Here it is about half finished. You can see my nifty little pochade box that I use when I paint outside. It holds a 9 X 12 inch canvas perfectly. At the end of the day, when you close the box, the little metal clips keep the painting up so it does not get damaged during travel. Very much fun. I was painting a new sculpture in the park called "Unity." I really like that sculpture and think it fits perfectly in the spot where they installed it. Press L for the large view.

While I was painting I missed calls from all three of our children, wishing me a happy Mother's Day. Ah well. Had a great day anyhow. Since I've talked to Helena and left messages for Lynda and Jason. It's been a happy day.

Happy Mother's Day to all of you mothers out there. And to your families too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.