Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

NO

Angie allowed me to use her car again after my 1st attempt a few days ago where I somehow changed all the settings. I had a 60 km motorway trip on official business, which my car really isn't up to.

I had been on the motorway for about 3 minutes was cruising at the officially recommended 130 km/h, when a small stone pinged against the windscreen & made a crack. There was no car in my lane ahead of me, and I had the feeling it came from the opposite lanes.

After my meeting, went straight to one of the windscreen repair places only to be told they weren't by law allowed to repair the chip as it was directly in the driver's field of view, i.e. between the steering wheel breadth. The gave me a sticker to temporarily protect the hole from water/frost damage. Repairs are done free of charge by all insurance companies, but full replacement comes under the part requiring co-payment, in Angie's case €150. But it's also a pain as need to give up the car for half a day, and there are problems with such a new car with all the cameras & sensors in the screen to calibrate them. The software hasn't been taught to the operators yet.

Think you can guess when I will next be allowed to drive it!

Anyway, I enjoyed the drive, slowly getting to understand some of the driver's assistance systems. In the market town of Weissenhorn where my meeting was, directly on the marketplace, there was also the Christmas Market. Only opens in the evenings, but quite nice to wander around. The town was, in medieval times, very important. Fascinating history. Some pics in Extras

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.