Star Light

I think the significance of midnight tonight is arbitrary - I do not believe in an 'old' year nor a 'new' year. I do not make resolutions, I do not think years change things and although I think any night is good for a party for those who enjoy such things, I am planning an early night tonight.

But despite my pessimism and cynicism about humanity en masse, and although I do not believe that wishes or hopes make the slightest difference in practice, I am a creature of my culture so I wish you all a peaceful and happy 2023.

And just in case I'm wrong, most especially this year to the people in Ukraine, Myanmar, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Mexico, Yemen, Somalia, the Boko Haram states, Syria, Mali, Iraq, Afghanistan, DR Congo...

Bloody humans.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.