Bob20

By Bob20

Light at the end of the tunnel. (title by Kathee)

This is a disused railway tunnel which links Rayol with Canadel. I first came here by train when I had finished my "O" Levels many moons ago. The train journey was quite spectacular as it hugged the coast.

I was 16 and travelled with 5 classmates from London to the South of France. It was a mixture of hitch-hiking and trains with some police transport in a meat wagon!

We had split up into pairs and met regularly on the route at prearranged points. We had flown by Dan-Air to Paris, spent a few days there and then began the long trek South. There were no mobile phones or internet, so it was much more of an adventure than it might be today.

We made it to Monte Carlo and spent a couple of nights locked up charged with vagrancy as we had been hitch-hiking and were sleeping rough. We were then taken to the border and deposited back in France. This was a huge favour as it saved on expenses. We had slowly travelled along the whole of the Cote d'Azur.

I had decided that one day I would live in Rayol Canadel and some 25 years later we bought our first property here.

We spent six weeks travelling through Europe and I still think this is one of the most beautiful places I have had the privilege to visit and live in.

Thanks for all the comments on my poppy yesterday, I am working my way through them and replying!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.